Korean Jjajangmyun

Sometimes I go for Jjajangmyun (Black bean Sauce Noodles) at the food court at H Mart on Seymour. For $4.95 +tax it’s not bad. There isn’t much meat though and I find I get hungry fairly quickly after.

So I figure, why don’t I give it a whirl. A quick Google led me here: http://www.maangchi.com/recipe/jjajangmyun (amazing! so many yummy recipes!) it was easy to follow the video is especially helpful. The only thing that took a fair amount of time was prepping the veggies. Instead of pork belly, I used pork tenderloin, seemed less fatty, but the husband thought it wasn’t enough meat. I also doubled the amount of veggies the recipe said, along with a bit more cornstarch to compensate for the excess water.

Tasting the sauce at the end is very important, I had to add more sugar to the sauce as it was a tad too salty for me.

So here are the results from my latest food experiment.

I also made this potato side dish that I love to eat when I’m at Korean restaurants. Unfortunately, mine kinda turned into mush. I think I’ll deep fry them a bit before mixing ingredients in next time so the outside is crispy.  http://www.maangchi.com/recipe/potato-side-dishes

Leave a Reply

