Banana Bread

I’ve always wanted a Kitchenaid stand mixer, and finally got one on sale. I couldn’t wait try it out so I decided to turn the bananas we forgot about into banana bread (what perfect timing!). If you have bananas that are too ripe, but no time to bake, put them in the freezer and just thaw when you’re ready to use. It’ll be super easy to mash too, however I find you get more “banana flavour” if you use fresh ones.

I didn’t have buttermilk so I looked for an alternative. I used 1/4 cup of milk (I used 2%) 1/4 teaspoon of lemon juice and waited for it to curdle a bit.

For this batch I put in almonds and cranberries (about 1/2 cup each) into the mixer then pressed some on top of the loaf before baking.

You can definitely do all this without a mixer, I’ve made this the good old-fashioned way by hand, it just took a bit of arm strength but came out just as good.

Ingredients:
2 – 3 Very Ripe Bananas – Mashed
2 Eggs
1 3/4 Cup Unsifted All-Purpose Flour
1 1/4 Cup Chopped Walnuts (optional – or other nuts you like)
1/2 Cup Vegetable Oil
1/4 Cup + 1 Tablespoon Buttermilk (or alternative as mentioned)
1 Teaspoon Baking Soda
1 Teaspoon Vanilla Extract
1/2 Teaspoon Salt
1 Cup Sugar

Directions:
1) Preheat oven to 325F (160/170C)
2) Combine all ingredients in a large bowl and mix well
(about 50 strokes, mix well, but don’t over-do it)
3) Pour into greased loaf pans (9″ x 5″) I used 3 small (5 3/4″ x 3 1/2″) ones or 4 muffin tins
4) Bake until top is golden, splits slightly and a toothpick comes out clean
Approx. 1 hour 10 minutes for large loaf pan, 55 minutes for my 3 small ones and 44 for muffin tins — BUT it really depends on your oven so set a timer and watch them near the end otherwise they’ll dry out.

Leave a Reply

