Miso Glazed Chicken

Image

Chicken thighs were on sale and I wasn’t feeling too creative so I decided to try the Miso Glazed Salmon marinade with it. http://wp.me/p1YyIg-P 

I used my dutch oven instead of the glass casserole dish since I have dried out poultry on several occasions using glass….but then again, it could just be me.

For four (4) bone-in chicken thighs, I went by taste & tried it BEFORE putting the chicken in (adjust to your own liking) but here is the original ingredients list I worked with:

  • 1/4 cup brown sugar (packed if you like it sweeter, I put a little less than 1/4 cup)
  • 2 tablespoons soya sauce
  • 2 tablespoons water
  • 2 tablespoons miso (soybean paste, I prefer white miso, it’s a bit sweeter)

DIRECTIONS:
1) Preheat broiler
2) Whisk all the ingredients together and set aside some of the marinade for basting
3) Place chicken into dutch oven with marinade and cook over low-medium heat on stove
*remember not to leave it sitting there, sugar burns easily
4) Once both sides are lightly cooked, place dutch oven into broiler – I left uncovered
5) Baste twice with set-aside marinate
6) Remove once chicken is done – 170F (or until jucies run clear), how long depends on your broiler/oven. Mine took about 25 minutes.
**To test bone-in chicken pieces, insert a fork in the chicken. It should go in easily and the juices should run clear. But meat and juices closest the bones may still look a little pink even though the chicken has been cooked thoroughly.

I also made rice and the sake butter to go with this. The result is a similar taste, of course the texture of the meat is different. I find salmon goes better with the flavours and the flakiness just melts well together with everything but chicken is not a bad runner-up.

My friend suggested I put some butter on top to keep things moist before it went into the oven, but it just kinda slid right off….BUT I didn’t dry it out!

Image

 

Leave a Reply

