Cowl Neck Scarf

Been kinda MIA for a little while, it’s because I’ve been finishing this up!

Lately I’ve seen a lot of these long cowl neck scarves done in thick chunky yarn but I haven’t seen any in a colour I like, so I decided to try making one myself. I wanted one I could wear once, or doubled, or around the top of my head and then around the neck.

I didn’t want a seam where the two ends joined so I decided to give those circular needles a try.

After a couple of errors & false starts, I ended up using the following:
– Size 13 circular needles
(I haven’t learned about gauge yet but this is the size the yarn label indicated to use)
– 3 balls of Lions Brand Hometown USA yarn in Portland Wine

Pattern:
Cast on 131 stitches
Join the round and add a marker
Row 1: *k1, p1, k1, p1 repeat from*
Row 2: *p1, k1, p1, k1, repeat from*
continue knitting in this stitch (‘seed sitch’ I think it’s called) until you get about 8″ of work
Cast off and weave in ends

This was my first attempt at knitting with circular needles and needles of this thickness. I like them because once you get your groove going you don’t have to stop. The only thing is – DON’T LOSE YOUR MARKER! I did and had a heck of a time trying to figure out where to replace it. Luckily only I was only a few rows in so I just started over.

The other thing is, don’t forget to move your working yarn when alternating stitches because I ended up with an extra stitch and got all messed up. I didn’t realize until an hour late which meant I had to take the it apart again.

Leave a Reply

