Attempted Chinese Radish Cake (蘿蔔糕)

One of my favourite dishes at dim sum is radish / turnip Cake. I love it all, steamed, pan-fried and deep-fried and smothered in XO sauce.

It seemed easy enough to make…or so I thought. The outcome looked ok but after cutting into it, it was very obvious I didn’t add enough water to the final mixture. The cake came out very stiff and powdery. I’m disappointed but not discouraged. I’m going to try again (uh…later….).

I told my mom about this problem and she said my proportions weren’t correct. The ratio of water to rice flour has to be 5:1  (5 cups of water for 1 cup of rice flour).  Try try again…..

Well, until I get it right, I won’t post the recipe, but I will share some photos so you can see it’s not supposed to look so thick & paste-like before steaming.

Leave a Reply

