Mixed Rice w/ Veggies (Bibimbap)


Here’s my first try at making bibimbap which literally translates to “mixed vegetables/rice”. Usually when I eat it at Korean restaurants I’ll order the dolsot bibimbap version where everything is served in a super hot stone pot/bowl but this bowl is on the expensive side and I didn’t want to spend the money for something I can’t use often. Everything tastes good served in a regular bowl but I gotta say, there’s nothing like eating out of a sizzling hot bowl.

It’s really easy to make and a good way to load up on veggies. Based on the instructions the cashier at the Korean grocery store gave me, here’s how I threw it all together. There are many variations out there so go ahead and make it your own.

Ingredients
Veggies as desired – I used carrots, spinach, white & shiitake mushrooms and zucchini
Ground beef – can replace with ground turkey,chicken or Yves Ground Round
Soya Sauce
Sesame oil
Garlic powder
Pepper
Salt
Rice
Red pepper paste sauce

Directions
1. Wash, peel, chop/slice/Julienne veggies
2. Cook rice in rice cooker
3. Marinate ground beef with some soya sauce and sesame oil (I didn’t measure, but for 500g of beef I used approx. 2 tablespoons of soya sauce, 1 teaspoon garlic powder, and 1 tablespoon of sesame oil)
4. Saute the beef on a non-stick pan until cooked, breaking pieces up, then set aside
5. Saute each vegetable type separately with a soya sauce or salt to taste, finish with a bit of sesame oil, set each aside separately
5. Put rice, veggies and meat into a bowl
6. Make an egg, sunny side up, and place it in the middle of everything
7. Put red pepper sauce on top, mix it all together and eat

One thought on “Mixed Rice w/ Veggies (Bibimbap)

Leave a Reply

